I did not eat breakfast today – read my story

My work day today started very early… I finished working in the lab and was on my way to a daylong workshop.  I was in need for coffee and breakfast.  I found myself at the College Ave Campus of Rutgers University. I entered the Au Bon Pain next to the student center, and looked around for a possible breakfast. Blueberry yogurt topped with granola never looked better. But being me… before deciding to purchase, I read the ingredients. Second on the list – High Fructose Corn Syrup. I don’t care what kind of sugar it is, i just don’t want more added sugar than fruit in my fruit yogurt. Down the list – preservatives and two kinds of food coloring (red and blue make purple – the color of blueberries!).

I had coffee only for breakfast.

From Au Bon Pain website:
BLUEBERRY YOGURT & WILD BLUEBERRY PARFAIT
INGREDIENTS: Blueberry Yogurt [Cultured Pasteurized Lowfat Milk, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Whey Protein Concentrate, Blueberries, Corn Syrup, Modified Corn Starch, Nonfat Milk Solids, Sugar, Whey, Natural Flavors, Carrageenan, Pectin, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Potassium Sorbate (To Maintain Freshness), Red 40 and Blue 1. Contains Active Yogurt Cultures], Granola (Rolled Oats, Soybean Oil, Sugar, Honey, Wheat Bran, Brown Sugar, Natural Flavor, Maple Syrup, Salt, Molasses), Blueberries.
http://www.aubonpain.com/menu/food.aspx?s=cafe_snacks&f=207
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

